Reaction-free in cottage country!

Summer vacation is all about relaxing and having fun with friends and family! During the summer, I visit my friends’ cottages and always have a great time. Spending all day on the lake, fishing, tubing, and having campfires, is what summer is all about. Of course, having allergies does involve some planning, but it’s totally worth it!

Two friends standing on the pier at the lake.

Here are some tips to have a reaction-free visit to a friend’s cottage:

  1. Always bring at least two epinephrine auto-injectors! When you’re away from home, it is always best to be prepared.
  2. Make sure you let your friend and their parents know about your allergies.  Before going away to a friend’s cottage, my parents and I always discuss my allergies with my friend and their parents. Informing them of my allergies and letting them know about my auto-injector really helps them feel more confident about me staying with them.
  3. Learn where the nearest hospital is, just to be safe.
  4. Leave your parents with the cottage phone number and directions to the cottage so they can find their way in an emergency.
  5. Talk with your friend about what you will be eating and if they have any questions on how to prepare safe meals for you.
  6. Bring some allergy-safe snacks, just in case.
  7. Don’t leave your auto-injector in the direct sunlight and heat.
  8. Bring your auto-injector with you everywhere. It may feel silly to bring it with you tubing or kayaking, but anaphylaxis can occur at anytime.
  9. Most importantly, have fun and enjoy yourself!

By following these tips, you can have a reaction-free trip to a friend’s cottage. Some of my best summer memories are with my friends. My friends are so understanding about my allergies and have no problem accommodating me. Be safe and have fun! 🙂

Image

3 responses

  1. Great tips! 🙂 Whenever we visit friends/family cottages…I always make sure to bring tasty allergy friendly treats or an entire meal for all to share. Everyone is always impressed with how yummy allergy friendly food can be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

