Endurance Sports and Allergies

Ever wanted to participate in a triathlon, or run a marathon? Well it’s possible even with severe allergies!! My name is Sydney and I am an athlete. I may not be Olympic class or even a provincial champion, but let me assure you, I always finish.

Carrying your auto-injector at all times is very important. Even when participating in sports, accidents can happen and you need to be prepared. When you are participating in a race, it may not seem aerodynamic or convenient, but it is simply the right thing to do.

I am an avid triathlete and I will usually compete in 3 or 4 triathlons every summer season. For those unfamiliar with this fairly new and upcoming sport, it involves 3 sports done consecutively of varying distances.

FNG104_OLY_Womens_Triathlon_20120804

The first sport always involves swimming. It can be anywhere from 400 metres to 2 km. The next event is biking. The shortest distance starts at 20 km and the longest at 180km! The last event is a run which can vary in length. Most races will be somewhere between 5 and 10 kilometres while the longest distance happens to be 42km, or a full marathon!

There is no break in between events so you have to make sure you prepare all your equipment before the race starts, especially your auto-injector. Obviously carrying my auto-injector during the swim portion of the event is not possible, but for the bike and run portions, you have many options! My personal favorite involves putting my auto-injector in the sewn in pocket on the back of my tri-suit. For those of you new to the sport, a tri-suit looks like a one-piece girl’s swimsuit with shorts. This makes it comfortable for swimming, and it also has a padded area in the crotch to minimize discomfort on the bike. As you can see in the picture, the pocket is quite tight so you will not have to worry about anything falling out during the race. This pocket is typically used by triathletes to keep energy gels and other nutritional items while competing.

legbuddy-sm

There are many other options for carrying your auto-injector (all of which I have tried and work just fine). One is to keep it in a small pouch behind the seat of your bike where you would keep your spare tire and other necessities. The only downside to this technique is that you will have to remember to remove your auto-injector after hopping off the bike. You can also use the classic waist pouch for your auto-injector, however, I find that it tends to bounce while I run and can get quite bothersome over long distances. Sometimes I like to run with something in my hands so I have ran while carrying my auto-injector in one hand and my inhaler in the other. This is a great technique if you don’t plan on drinking from the water stations, as you can easily guess why. I certainly do wish I had 3 hands sometimes! The last option is to purchase a leg holster for your auto-injector. I would suggest putting this on as soon as you get out of the water and that way you can keep it on for the rest of the race without having to worry about switching its place.

trisuitaIf you are looking for an awesome allergy awareness-finishing picture, try holding your auto-injector up in the air while you run across the finish line! There will always be a professional photographer taking pictures of you as you cross the line, and what better way to show others that allergies don’t stop you from doing anything!

One response

Leave a Reply

