Speak before you eat!

Hi!  My name is Noah. I’m a newer member of YAP, and I’m allergic to peanuts and tree nuts.

My brothers and I play a lot of hockey on the weekends, so we aren’t home much and sometimes like to eat out. Eating at restaurants can be difficult for people with allergies, because many people don’t know how to speak with their waiter.

PeanutsWhen I eat out, I ask the waiter or waitress if they use any peanuts or tree nuts in the kitchen. I feel really uncomfortable when restaurants use peanuts, because I’m very severely allergic to them. If they use peanuts, we leave. If they use tree nuts (but no peanuts) I let them know that I have a tree nut allergy, and I ask them to make sure that no nuts come into contact with my food.

Bowl of tree nuts

Most of the time, restaurants can accommodate me very well. Restaurants that use nuts often use them in desserts – so when I eat out, I rarely get dessert.  Instead, I just wait until we are done eating and get a chocolate bar from the convenience store. Sometimes, no one else in my family orders dessert either to make me feel happy and included, which is nice of them to do!

I also know to avoid certain types of restaurants, like Thai restaurants, which often use peanuts in their cooking.

Overall, I have had great experiences at restaurants. You can too, as long as you take the extra steps to keep yourself safe!

What experiences have you had dining out with food allergies? Leave a comment or question below, or visit our facebook page!

2 responses

  1. I agree with Noah. It takes a little more work to find places that are accommodating to your allergy, but they exist! I also choose to not eat a restaurants that have peanuts (I am anaphylactic to peanuts, but also allergic to soy), but if they have soy then I am just really cautious about it. Some people that have anaphylactic allergies manage their allergies differently and choose to eat at restaurants that serve their allergen. I feel safest not eating at them, and my friends and family are great support to me on that!

Leave a Reply

