Halloween with Allergies

Hi! My name is Noah and I just started Grade 9.   I have been going out for Halloween for the past 12 years.  It is one of my favourite celebrations of the year because you can eat as much candy as you want! The main thing that is different for me is that I am allergic to peanuts and tree nuts.   But, I don’t let that stop me when Halloween comes around.

Every year that I go out for Halloween, I have the same routine.  I just go trick or treating like people without an allergy and I take any candy that is given to me. After I am done trick or treating, my parents and I go through my candy sorting things that have nuts in them from the candy that is safe for me.   If it doesn’t have a label, it goes into the pile of candy I can’t eat, because we would rather be safe than take a chance.

Although there is usually about a quarter of my candy that isn’t safe to eat, I never feel like I don’t have enough candy because there is always so much! My parents bring the candy with nuts in it to their office and share it with their co-workers.

My favourite type of candy would either have to be Fuzzy Peach or Sour Patch Kids.  I guess you could say I have a “Sweet and Sour” tooth!  Happy Trick or Treating!

Leave a Reply

